Colchester Symphony Orchestra new season

September 1st, 2011

Colchester Symphony Orchestra have announced details of their 2011-2012 Season. All concerts are in St Botolph’s Church, Colchester on Saturday evenings and start at 7.30pm (doors open 7pm).

Conductor – Chris Phelps
Leader – Philippa Barton

17th September 2011 – Meet The Orchestra
Rossini – Overture – The Italian Girl in Algiers
Saint-Saëns – Cello Concerto No 1 in A Minor (Soloist :   Nick Cooper)
Beethoven – Symphony No 7 in A Major

12th November 2011 – Mozart & Shostakovich
Mozart – Divertimento No 3 in F Major K138
Shostakovich – Concerto No 1 for Piano, Trumpet & Strings (Soloists :   Tim Carey, Oliver Carey)
Shostakovich – Chamber Symphony Op 110a Arr. Barshai
Mozart – Divertimento No 1 in D Major K136

21st January 2012 – BBC Young Musician Finalist
Rossini – Overture The Barber of Seville
Grieg – Piano Concerto Op 16 (Concerto Finalist – BBC Young Musician of the year 2008)
Gordon Crosse – The Barley Bird
Beethoven – Symphony No 5 in C Minor

3rd March 2012 – Francaix and Mozart
Mozart – Overture   Don Giovanni
Mozart – Sinfonia Concertante for Wind K297 (Soloists:   Principals of CSO)
Françaix – L’horloge de Flore (The Flower Clock) (Soloist:   Rob Rogers)
Mozart – Symphony No 41 in C Major (Jupiter)

12th May 2012 – ‘Scotland the Brave!’
Mendelssohn – Overture   The Hebrides
W. Alwyn – Suite of Scottish Dances
Mendelssohn – Symphony No 3 in A Minor (The Scottish)

2nd June 2012 – Russian Night
Tchaikovsky – Fantasy Overture   Romeo and Juliet
Prokofiev – Violin Concert No 2 in G Minor   Op 63 (Soloist:   Alexandra Wood)
Rimsky-Korsakov – Scheherazade

Adults £12, Concessions £10, Full-time Education £2
Concert tickets are available from Colchester Arts Centre (01206) 500900, on the door, or online at

Season Tickets
(6 concerts for the price of 5)
Adults £60, Concessions £50
Please contact the Friends Secretary, Patricia Stewart,   for Season Tickets on (01206) 501615 or email



About the Author

Comments are closed.

Back to Top ↑